Girl not boy

Well, the neighbours have a new baby now (well not too new, he must be 5-6 months old). And guess what has been transpiring in the house as a direct consequence of visiting the baby a couple of months back? Manipulaterix wants a baby. She first wanted to know which shop sold babies! LOL! So I gave her a watered down version of where babies come from. And then the demands have continued on and off for the past couple of months. Last week the baby tried “talking” to her as she was off to school. And that prompted another demand. “I want a girl baby”. So this was the dialogue that ensued:

M: I want a girl baby.

Me: Ok. Why do you want a girl baby?

M: Because I am a  girl!

Me: Ok, why not a boy baby?

M: (gives me the duh! look) See, dad is a boy. So he has to take care of the boy baby. I want to come and give milk to the baby after school. So I want a girl baby.

Me: Why can’t dad take care of the baby?

M: (now looks at me like I am an idiot) Dad has to go to office. How will he take care of the baby? Babies can’t go to office! So I want a girl baby!

Ah kids! 🙂

Leave a Reply

